Login
   Minimize 

Rideshare to the Fair with GoMaine


  You are here:  The FairGeneral InformationCamping & Accommodations   
 Accommodations Near The Common Ground Country Fair Minimize


Accommodation Suggestions for the Common Ground Country Fair

 

The following list includes a wide range of accommodation options for vendors, volunteers and fairgoers. Neither MOFGA nor the Common Ground Country Fair assumes any responsibility for reservations, accommodations or overall experiences at any of the below-listed establishments. Any business relationship established between any vendor, exhibitor, volunteer or fairgoer, and any proprietor of any below-listed establishment is done so independently of MOFGA and the Common Ground Country Fair.

All phone numbers have a 207 area code unless otherwise indicated.

 

 
Camping Within a Few Miles of MOFGA's Common Ground Education Center
(listed in order of distance away from MOFGA)
 
  • Bioregional Conservancy Retreat (BCRT), 3 min. from fair grounds. Camping, pasture for horses and other large animals available upon request. RVs welcome. Visitors are welcome to participate in farm chores (milking, feeding, gardening, construction etc.) if they are looking to have a farm experience. Reservations requested - 207-568-3139. Located in Thorndike, you can also e-mail Roger or Martina at botanicacampus@earthlink.net
  • Camp/Cottage on Unity Pond. 3 miles from the Fair located on Horseback Road on Unity Pond. Sleeps up to 10 people. Call 207-453-0940 or 207-314-1218 or email at lingeob@msn.com Booked for 2013
  • Daily cottage rentals off Unity Pond. Walking distance to Downtown Unity and within 3 miles to MOFGA. Sleeps up to 5. 3-night minimum. Tent sites also available. Within 3 miles of MOFGA. Call 207-465-5602. Chuck Penney
  • Home with Land in Unity. On Route 202 in Unity, 562 Albion Rd. Campsites for primitive camping and self-contained campers. Contact: Jolene Tupper at 948-3263
  • Cozy Camp on serene Lovejoy Pond in Albion, about 15 miles away from fair. The camp sits 15' back from the edge of the pond, known for its great fishing. The camp has been fully renovated in the last year and is updated and clean. Contact: Abby Lourie - 207-215-9926.
  • Friends Camp – affordable overnight lodging/tenting with breakfast and dinner. 729 Lakeview Drive (Route 202) South China, Maine. Friends Camp is 19 miles from MOFGA. Reservations begin after August 6th. Call 207-445-2361, and in September, call 207-873-3499 or e-mail director@friendscamp.org. Find us as www.friendscamp.org/common_ground_fair_lodging.htmloffers
  • Large cottage can sleep up to 5 people with extra sleeping bunks in the carriage house. Convenient to fairgrounds off Rt. 220. http://wildernesscabin.org, call Kay or Hurley for reservations, 207-631-1023
  • Green Valley Campground, located in Vassalboro. 207-923-3000, www.grnvly.com or www.greenvalleycampground.us
  • Summer home, 3 miles from MOFGA on Lake Winnecook (Unity pond). 2 bedrooms (1 queen and 1 double), kitchen, living room, bath, and screened porch overlooking the lake. Non Smoking and no pets. soarrc@uninets.net or 207-745-2932 – booked for 2013
Pet Kennels
  • Wildwind Kennels and Guide Service - 1368 Webb Road, Knox (5 miles from MOFGA) Kennel 568-3575 or Cell 322-6236, www.wildwindkennels.com

Accommodations in Waldo County & the Midcoast Area
For additional help, call the Belfast Area Chamber of Commerce at 207-338-5900

 
  • Admiral's Ocean Inn - Rt 1, Belfast - 338-4260 – www.admiralsoceaninn.com
  • Alden House B&B - Belfast - 877-337-8151; 338-2151 - www.thealdenhouse.com
  • Belfast Harbor Inn - Belfast - 800-545-8576; 338-2740 - www.belfastharborinn.com
  • Belhaven Inn - Belfast - 338-5435 - www.belhaveninn.com
  • Comfort Inn - Belfast - 338-2090 – www.comfortinnbelfast.com
  • Gull Motel - Belfast - 338-4030 - www.thegullmotel.com
  • The Jeweled Turret Inn - Belfast - 800-696-2304; 338-2304 - www.jeweledturret.com
  • The Moorings Ocean Front Campground, RV sites only - Belfast - 338-6860 - www.oceanfrontrvcamping.com
  • Northport Motel & Cottages- Northport- 338-3018 – www.northportmotel.com
  • Seascape Motel & Cottages -Belfast- 1-800-477-0786 or 338-2130 - www.seascapemotel.com 

    Montville/Searsport (another 5-10 minutes north on Route 1 from Belfast)
     
  • Sweet cape: Charming 200-year-old restored house in Montville sleeps 6 (2 doubles, 2 singles) is for rent @ $500/week in September. Fun, safe area for kids. Nice, big, simple kitchen. Quiet village of South Montville is about half hour from Unity fairgrounds. See web site: http://www.summerrental.webuda.com/rental/home.html - Call Emily at 917 497 3674.
  • Carriage House Inn - Searsport - 800-578-2167; 548-2167 - www.carriagehouseinmaine.com
  • Loon Lookout Cottages - Swanville (about 10 miles from Belfast) - 338-1260 - www.loonlookout.com
  • Sea Captain Inn - Searsport - 548-0919 - www.seacaptainsinn.moonfruit.com
  • Searsport Shores Ocean-front Camping - Searsport - 548-6059 - www.campocean.com. Learn more about the surrounding area at http://searsportshores.com/
  • 1794 WATCHTIDE...by the Sea! - Searsport - 800-698-6575; 548-6575 - www.watchtide.com
  • Yardarm Motel - Searsport - 548-2404 - www.searsportmaine.com
  • Elm Cottage B&B (vegan/vegetarian) - 548-2941 - www.elmcottageinsearsport.com

    Accommodations in Waterville Area (approximately 1/2 hour from Unity)
    for additional help contact the Waterville Area Chamber of Commerce at 207-873-3315
     
  • Fireside Inn and Suites - Waterville - 873-3335 - www.firesideinnwaterville.com
  • Budget Host Airport Inn - Waterville - 873-3366 - www.budgethost.com
  • Comfort Inn and Suites - Waterville - 873-2777 - www.choicehotels.com
  • Econo Lodge - Waterville- 800-424-6423; 872-5577 - www.econolodge.com
  • Hampton Inn- Waterville - 800-HAMPTON; 873-0400 - www.hamptoninn.com
  • Waterville Grand Hotel (Exit 130) - Waterville - 873-0111 - www.watervillemainehotel.com
 Pet Kennels
  • Applewood Boarding Kennel - 174 Bangor Rd, Benton- 453-5959
  • It’s Raining Cats & Dogs – closed Wednesdays - 340 Albion Road, Benton- 207-453-9490
 Oakland/Belgrade (~40-50 min. west) 
  • Alden Camps - Oakland - 465-7703 - www.aldencamps.com -Booked during CGCF
  • Belgrade Lakes Village Inn - Route 27, Belgrade Lakes - 495-3553 - www.villageinnducks.com
  • Belgrade Lakes House B & B - Belgrade Lakes - 495-2786 - www.belgradelakeshouse.com
  • Pressey House Bed and Breakfast - Oakland - 465-3500 or 1-877-773-7738 - www.presseyhouse.com
  • Whisperwood Lodge and Cottages - Belgrade - 207-465-3983 - www.whisperwoodlodge.com
  • Wings Hill Inn- Rt 27, Belgrade Lakes- 495-2400 or 1-866-495-2400 - www.wingshillinn.com
  •  
     China/Vassalboro (~30 min. southwest)
  • Green Valley Campground - Vassalboro - 923-3000 - www.greenvalleycampground.us

Skowhegan (~50 min. northwest)
 
  • Skowhegan - Caanan KOA Campground - 474-2858 - www.smorefuncampground.com 
     
    Accommodations in Bangor Area (approximately 45 minutes from Unity)
    for additional help contact the Bangor Area Chamber of Commerce at 207-947-0307
  • Bangor Motor Inn - Bangor - 800-244-0355; 947-0355 - www.bangormotorinn.com
  • Best Western White House Inn - Bangor - 862-3737 - www.whitehouseinnbangor.com
  • Charles Inn - Bangor - 992-2820 - www.thecharlesinn.com
  • Comfort Inn - Bangor - 942-7899 - www.comfortinn.com
  • Country Inn at the Mall - Bangor - 800-244-3961; 941-0200 - www.countryinnatthemall.net
  • Days Inn - Bangor - 942-8272 - www.daysinn.com
  • Econo Lodge - Bangor - 945-0111 - www.econolodge.com/hotel-bangor-maine-ME041
  • Fairfield Inn, Marriott - Bangor - 990-0001 - http://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/bgrfi-fairfield-inn-bangor/
  • The Fireside Inn & Suites - Bangor - 942-1234 - www.firesideinnbangor.com
  • Four Points by Sheraton Bangor Airport - Bangor - 800-228-4609; 947-6721 - www.fourpoints.com
  • Holiday Inn - Odlin Rd - Bangor - 800-914-0101; 947-0101 www.holidayinn.com/bangorme
  • Motel 6 - Bangor - 800-466-8356; 947-6921 - www.motel6.com
  • Paul Bunyan Campgrounds - 941-1177 - www.paulbunyancampground.com
  • Riverside Inn - Bangor - 973-4100 - www.riversidebangor.org
  • University Inn - Orono - 866-4921 - www.universityinnorono.com
Pet Kennels
  • Green Acres Kennel Shop - Bangor- 945-6841 - www.greenacreskennel.com
  • Fresh Air Dogs - Guilford (approx. 1 hr north of Unity) - 564-2604 - www.freshairdogs.com

Rockland Area (> 1 hour from Fairgrounds)  
  • Long Cove Cottages - St. George / Tenant’s Harbor - 372-8994 - www.longcovecottages.com
 

    

Home | Programs | Agricultural Services | The Fair | Certification | Events | Publications | Resources | Store | Support MOFGA | Contact | MOFGA.net | Search
  Copyright © 2013 Maine Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association   Terms Of Use  Privacy Statement    Site by Planet Maine